ru en

Gabriel Lame Chair

General information

The Lamé chair (visiting professorship) is a joint initiative of the French Embassy in the Russian Federation and the St. Petersburg State University. Its aim is to reinforce the scientific relations between the French and Russian mathematical communities.

The chair is held by a mathematician employed by a French public institution. Preference is given to candidates whose work unites the depth of theoretical research and an emphasis on applications. The Laureate is supposed to:

  • stay in St. Petersburg for three months, usually from September to November or from April to June;
  • give a lecture course of 15 to 25 hours;
  • organize a weekly seminar;
  • organize a scientific meeting with a duration of 3 to 5 days, bringing together 20 to 50 participants.

The topics for the course, seminar and conference/workshop should correspond to the laureate’s research interests. These activities are hosted by St. Petersburg State University (Chebyshev Laboratory), the Steklov Mathematical Institute at St. Petersburg, and the Euler International Mathematical Institute.  The lecture course and seminar, as well as the talks at the meeting are videorecorded and posted on the Chebyshev Laboratory website.

These events, as well as the visit itself, are funded by the French Embassy in Russian Federation, the Chebyshev Laboratory, and the Fondation Mathématiques Jacques Hadamard. Scientific projects of the Chebyshev Laboratory are supported by JSC “Gazprom Neft” (under the social investment program “Native Towns“).

More details on the application and competition.
Information about the Lame Chair on the website of the French Embassy in Russian Federation (in French).


The recipient of the Lame Chair 2020 is Jean-Michel Roquejoffre, professor of the University of Toulouse.


Previous laureates (more details):

2019: Athanase Papadopoulos (University of Strasbourg)
2018: Andrzej Zuk (University Paris 7)
2017: Zhan Shi (University Paris 6)
2016: Alexander Bufetov (University Aix-Marseille)
2015: Jean-Louis Colliot-Thélène (Université Paris-Sud, Orsay)
2014: Harald Helfgott (CNRS/Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris)
2014: Frédéric Klopp (Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu, Université Pierre et Marie Curie)
2014: Alexandre Zvonkine (Laboratoire Bordelais de Recherche en Informatique, Université de Bordeaux)